NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE Garden City, New York 11530

Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee Minutes

Name

Emily Hegarty
Dean Karras
Thomas Re

Department

English
Health, Phy Ed & Rec
Math/Comp Sci/IT

eM

Promotion to Associate Professor

Name **Department** Maryann Capone Accounting/Business Administration Andrew DeJoseph Accounting/Business Administration Rosemary DeRiso **Economics and Finance** Dean Holzmann Legal Studies Christine Marchese Accounting/Business Administration Allied Health Sciences Salvatore Masi Reading and Basic Education Elizabeth Hynes-Musnisky Accounting/Business Administration **David Nugent** Heidi O'Connell Marketing/Retailing/Fashion Design Laura O'Connell Communications Stephen B. Ogumah Communications David Pecan **English** Karen Santini Allied Health Sciences Paul Sheehan Music Randall Spinks **English** JoAnne Thacker Math/Comp Sci/IT Lisa Tine Allied Health Sciences

Chair Powers asked if there were any questions. Dr. Collins gave a brief explanation on the procedures and guidelines of faculty promotions at NCC, as per the NCCFT contract. Chair Powers requested a motion to recommend the foregoing resolution to the full Board for approval. Trustee Green made the motion; seconded by Trustee Weiss. Motion carried 6-0.

Chair Gardyn made a motion to suspend the Personnel, Affirmative Action and Labor Committee meeting pursuant to Article X of the Board's Rules of Procedure to open the Board of Trustees meeting in order to enter into Executive session. Chair Powers seconded the motion. Motion carried 6-0.

Meeting resumed at 8:20 p.m.

5. The following resolution was presented to the committee:

RESOLVEDD Ò d G2 2 2

WHEREAS, NEW YORK STATE EDUCATION LAW §6306 5-A(B) PERMITS COMMUNITY COLLEGES TO ESTABLISH QUALIFICATIONS THAT THE DESIGNATION OF A CAMPUS SECURITY OFFICER AS A PEACE OFFICER SHALL BE BASED ON, AND

WHEREAS, IN JANUARY 2017 THE NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES APPROVED QUALIFICATIONS FOR A CAMPUS SECURITY OFFICER TO BE DESIGNATED AS A PEACE OFFICER, AND

WHEREAS, PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICERS MIGUEL OTERO, JULIO PEREZ, CHARLES DITTMAR AND JUSTIN BOLOBANIC HAVE ALL MET THE QUALIFICATIONS APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, NOW THEREFORE BE IT

RESOLVED, THAT THE NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES HEREBY AUTHORIZES THE APPOINTMENT OF MIGUEL OTERO, JULIO PEREZ, CHARLES DITTMAR AND JUSTIN BOLOBANIC AS PEACE OFFICERS EFFECTIVE APRIL 9, 2018, AND BE IT

FURTHER RESOLVED, THAT THE NASSAU COMMUNITY COLLEGE BOARD OF